Mike Cooley

Roll Tide

by Woody on January 8, 2013

In honor of A.J. McCarron’s super-fine girlfriend Alabama’s thrashing of Notre Dame, here is Alabama’s finest doing Where The Devil Don’t Stay

And if you were like every other person in America, that didn’t go to Notre Dame or has a copy of Rudy on Betamax, and laid the points last night; well then you got some extra coin in your pocket. What better way to spend it than on some good ol’ Alabama boys. Cooley, Patterson and Isbell all have fantastic solo albums out now. Go buy them.

Cooley – The Fool On Every Corner

Patterson – Heat Lightning Rumbles In The Distance

Isbell – Live From Alabama

Isbell and Patterson’s are on sale for $5. Cooley’s holding out for $9. Buy all three and you’ll still have a little left over for a bottle of Jack. And in related news, our HearYa session with Patterson shall be out shortly.

{ 1 comment }

As luck would have it, I am going to see Cooley tonight at The Hideout. As any long-time fan of DBT would be, HearYa is obvioulsy very excited about this prospect. Here is the nitty-gritty.

Mike Cooley’s debut solo album, The Fool On Every Corner, will be released on December 11, 2012. The Fool on Every Corner was recorded by longtime Drive-By Truckers’ producer David Barbe during a three-show run last March, beginning with a two-night stand at no-frills Atlanta rock club The Earl and closing at The Melting Point in Athens, GA . The record features live acoustic versions of fan favorites such as “Carl Perkins Cadillac”, “3 Dimes Down”, and “Marry Me” as well as one new song, “Drinking Coke and Eating Ice” and a Charlie Rich cover of, “Behind Closed Doors”.

Playing without his DBT band mates left Cooley and little uncomfortable. “When you don’t do it normally, it’s terrifying,” Cooley admits. “I try to relax, but I’ll probably never be able to sit down in a chair on stage as easily as I sit down on a toilet behind a closed door. That’s the goal—somewhere in between,” he deadpans. “I set the bar high.”

Despite his bad nerves and tongue-in-cheek penchant for self-deprecation, Cooley shines on this bare-bones live set, tossing aside his guitar pick and playing almost everything with his fingers. “Strip it, strip it, strip it down,” he says, alluding to the mantra that guided these performances. “What’s left is the song and nothing else.”

Cooley will continue to play select solo dates throughout 2013.

Track Listing:
1 – Loaded Gun In The Closet
2 – Cottonseed
3 – Guitar Man Upstairs
4 – Cartoon Gold
5 – Pulaski
6 – 3 Dimes Down
7 – Eyes Like Glue
8 – Carl Perkins Cadillac
9 – Behind Closed Doors
10 – Marry Me
11 – Where The Devil Don’t Stay
12 – Shut Up And Get On The Plane
13 – Drinking Coke And Eating Ice

{ 1 comment }